Protesters agitating over this year’s presidential election in Malawi have clashed with the police in parts of the country.

The opposition supporters resumed their protests on Friday as they refuse to accept the outcome of the May 21 election.

The protesters have been demanding that the chairperson of the Malawi Electoral Commission, Jane Ansah resigns.

She is being accused of mishandling the 21 May election won by President Peter Mutharika.

Mutharika was declared winner of the election with a 38.57% share of the vote.

But the opposition party leader Lazarus Chakwera who came second with 35.41% rejected the final results.

Mutharika however took his oath of office promising to tackle corruption.

Two opposition parties, the Malawi Congress Party (MCP) and the United Transformation Movement (UTM), challenged the poll result in court.

Protest organisers say the demonstrations will continue until their call for a change in the leadership of Malawi’s electoral commission takes place.


Source link